Borderway Agri-Expo Open British Blue Calf Show

The Border British Blue Club staged their ninth annual open calf show on Friday 28th October 2016 at the Borderway Agri-Expo 2016 at Borderway Mart, Carlisle when there was a catalogued entry of 47 calves. This was made up of 20 males and 27 females all UK born pedigree registered calves born on or after 1st October 2015.

The club would like to thank the sponsors of this event, Davidsons Animal Feeds who supplied the prize money and the club provided the rosettes and coffee and cakes on the stand.

Trophies - David Dickinson Memorial Trophy for the overall champion calf; BK Ryder Memorial Trophy for the male champion calf; Bellas Perpetual Trophy for the female champion calf, Norbreck Genetics Perpetual Trophy for the breeder with the most points and the Pendle plaque for the winner of the young handler class presented by the Hartley family.

Chairman Ross Pattinson would like to thank all those who supplied cattle for the British Blue stand at the Agri-Expo they certainly generated a lot of interest and were a great spectacle for the breed. He would also like to say a big thank you to all those who helped on the Blue stand. It was very much appreciated.

The Judge, Linda Morgan, (Ty Isaf Herd) commented that she had a very enjoyable day judging the Pedigree British Blue calves at the Borderway Agri-Expo, many thanks to the organisers for inviting me. I was looking for calves that were mobile, had growth and muscle, my champion and reserve both possessed these qualities together with style and presence in the ring and were good examples of the breed, as were all the other calves. Congratulations to all the young handlers. We have a lot of good young stockmen/women for the future. Many thanks to all the exhibitors for the cattle forward it’s a credit to you all.

Exhibitors travelled the length and breadth of the country to support this event which has grown to be the winter show of choice.

Dylan Townend won the female & overall championship with Clifftown Luckystar ET. A February 2016 born heifer from the Tweeddale Ebony (SR) ET and Jobarde De Fooz ET flush. He was presented the Bellas Perpetual Trophy for champion female and David Dickinson memorial trophy (official society auctioneer to the British Blue Cattle Society 1989-2007) for the overall championship.

Supreme Champion - Clifftown Luckystar ET

Supreme Champion - Clifftown Luckystar ET

Taking the reserve female championship was the full ET sister to the champion, Clifftown Ladyluck ET, A January 2016 born heifer from Dylan Townend.

The male & reserve overall championship went to Ian McGarva with Abington Lionel. A January 2016 born bull calf by Corrandulla Finton ET and out of Abington Harriet. He was also presented the Ryder Farming Perpetual Trophy for the male champion.

Abington Lionel

Reserve Supreme Champion - Abington Lionel

The reserve male championship was awarded to A & CS Comrie with Stonebyres Levi a February 2016 born bull calf by Kersey Geronimo ET and out of Tamhorn Goodtimegirl ET.

There was 9 very competitive young handlers competing for the Pendle plaque. It was decided to split the class into senior and junior and then do the overall championship.

Young handlers aged 10 and under: 1st Hollie Bellas (10); 2nd Matthew Benson (9); 3rd William Pedley (6); 4th Ross Watret (8); 5th Lexi Pattinson (4).

Young handlers aged 11 and over: 1st Ross Comrie (14); 2nd Josh Bellas (16); 3rd Joe Pattinson (11); 4th Georgia Thornton (15).

Championship went to Hollie Bellas who was awarded the Pendle Plaque by Izzy Hartley with Ross Comrie in reserve.

Blair & Shona Comrie won the Progeny Group with two Kersey Geronimo ET calves. Stonebyres Levi (male) (1st in his class & reserve male champion) out of Tamhorn Goodtimegirl ET and Stonebyres Leona (female) (2nd  in her class) out of Stonebyres Gem ET.

JH Pedley was runner up in Progeny Group with two Tweeddale Hamish ET calves. Oak Tree Lucy (female) (3rd in her class) out of Oak Tree Irresisteble and Oak Tree Liberty (heifer) (2nd in her class) out of Andys Ebony ET.

The Norbreck Genetics perpetual trophy for the breeder with the most points was awarded to Wyn Jones (Tanat Herd).

Class prize winners were as follows: -

Class 1) male born between 01.10.15 and 30.11.15:
1st Oak Tree Kilimanjaro ET (JH Pedley);

2nd Clifftown Kracker (Dylan Townend);

3rd Top Side Kupid (Ross & Elaine Pattinson);

4th Kingside Kobee ET (T & A Cockburn);

5th Kelowna Kaiser (RS & CL Pattinson).

Class 2) male born between 01.12.15 and 31.01.16
1st male champion & reserve overall champion Abington Lionel (Ian McGarva);

2nd Tanat Lifter ET (WR & WW Jones);

3rd Tanat Legend ET (WR & WW Jones);

4th Maidenlands King Kong ET (Dean Saunders);

5th Moorsley Kris (Paul Brannen).

Class 3) male born between 01.02.16 and 31.05.16:
1st & reserve male champion Stonebyres Levi (A & CS Comrie);

2nd Dyffryn Little Rascal ET (Catrin Edwards);

3rd Maes Livewire ET (IP Jones);

4th Mewstone Levi (Matthew SH Benson).

Class 4) female born between 01.10.15 and 30.11.15:
1st  Maidenlands Kloe ET (Dean Saunders);

2nd Tanat Kindle ET (WR & WW Jones);

3rd Tanat Kira ET (WR & WW Jones);

4th Keasden Head K-Ian ET (S Mason);

5th Kinkry Hill Kitkat (Joe Pattinson).

Class 5) female born between 01.12.15 and 31.01.16:
1st & reserve female champion Clifftown Ladyluck ET (Dylan Townend);

2nd Abington Lucy ET (Ian McGarva);

3rd Littlebank Kimberley (HR & WJ Maudsley);

4th Top Side Lexi ET (Ross & Elaine Pattinson);

5th Top Side Knock Out ET (Ross & Elaine Pattinson).

Class 6) female born between 01.02.16 and 28.02.16:
1st female champion & overall champion Clifftown Luckystar ET (Dylan Townend);

2nd Stonebyres Leona (A & CS Comrie);

3rd Oak Tree Lucy (JH Pedley);

4th Croftends Lola (JE Bellas & Son);

5th Tanat Lady ET (WR & WW Jones).

Class 7) female born between 01.03.16 and 30.04.16:
1st Homilton Lexi (Roly Carr);

2nd Oak Tree Liberty (JH Pedley);

3rd Abington Lucky Guess ET (Ian McGarva);

4th Abington Lottie (Ian McGarva);

5th Tanat Lulu ET (WR & WW Jones).

Class 8a) Young Handler (aged 10 and under):
1st Hollie Bellas (10) leading Top Side Lexi ET;

2nd Matthew Benson (9) leading Mewstone Levi;

3rd William Pedley (6) leading Oak Tree Liberty;

4th Ross Watret (8) leading Criffel View Kendra;

5th Lexi Pattinson (4) leading Top Side Knock Out ET.

Class 8b) Young Handler (aged 11 and over):
1st Ross Comrie (14) leading Stonebyres Levi;

2nd Josh Bellas (16) leading Croftends Lola;

3rd Joe Pattinson (11) leading Kinkry Hill Kitkat

4th Georgia Thornton (15) leading Keasden Head K-Ian ET

Champion Young Handler – Hollie Bellas (10)

Reserve Champion Young Handler – Ross Comrie (14)

Class 10 Progeny (2 animals by the same sire but out of different dams):
1st Blair & Shona Comrie – Stonebyres Levi & Stonebyres Leona (sired by Kersey Geronimo ET);

2nd JH Pedley - Oak Tree Lucy & Oak Tree Liberty (sired by Tweeddale Hamish ET);

3rd Steve & Joe Pattinson – Kelowna Kaiser & Kinkry Hill Kitkat (sired by Kersey Geronimo ET)