Herd Competition 2014

The Border British Blue Club held their Sixth Annual Herd Competition. The competition was open to all fully paid up members residing within the Border British Blue Club area. The herds were split into two categories (small and large herds). Large herd was a herd that registers more than 5 calves a year and small herd is a herd that registers less than 5 calves a year into the British Blue herd book.

The club would like to thank David Allen for the sponsorship of this event.

The Judge Wyn Jones (Tanat Herd) had the very difficult task of judging the event. The small herd was won by the Bellas family (Croftends). The winner of the large herd went to Kevin Watret (Solway View). The Solway View herd went on to win the Overall Herd Competition.

The prize giving took place at the Auctioneer Suite, Rosehill, Carlisle.

The Border Club would like to thank everyone who helped make the Herd Competition a great success.

Class prize winners were as follows: -

BEST COW to receive David Allen Plaque:

1st Solway View Black Beauty ET (Kevin Watret);
2nd Goodyhills Diamond (Neil & Irene Armstrong);
3rd Croftends Georgia ET (JE Bellas & Son).

BEST HEIFER 12 – 30 months to receive Kelowna Plaque:

1st Top Side Isla (Ross & Elaine Pattinson);
2nd Solway View Hotspot ET (Kevin Watret);
3rd Stonebyres Imogen (Blair & Shona Comrie).

Most Promosing Heifer under 12 months to
receive Total Signs Plaque:

1st Solway View Illusion ET (Kevin Watret);
2nd Kelowna Joules (Steve & Claire Pattinson);
3rd Blackstane J’Adore (Kelly Blackwood & Duncan Davidson).

BEST BULL to receive Neil Graham & Co Plaque:

1st Stonebyres Harris ET (Blair & Shona Comrie);
2nd Solway View Inferno (Kevin Watret);
3rd Highgreen Freddie (G Mitchinson & Son).

Most Promosing Bull under 12 months to receive Harrison & Hetherington Ltd Plaque:

1st Croftends Josh ET (JE Bellas & Son);
2nd Solway View Jim Beam ET (Kevin Watret);
3rd Abington Jeff (Ian McGarva).

BEST SMALL HERD to receive Little’s Butchers Plaque:

1st Croftends Herd (JE Bellas & Son);
2nd Kelowna Herd (Steve & Claire Pattinson);
3rd Carrock Herd (Richard & Stephen Brough).

BEST LARGE HERD to receive Highland Drover Plaque:

1st Solway View Herd (Kevin Watret);
2nd Stonebyres Herd (Blair & Shona Comrie);
3rd Moorsley Herd (Paul Brannen).

OVERALL BEST HERD to receive Brian Wheatley Plaque:

Solway View Herd (Kevin Watret).

kindly sponsored by
David allen