Fifteenth Annual Open Calf Show

Friday 24th January 2014

Judge: Andrew Price (Bedgebury Herd)

The Border British Blue Club staged their Fifteenth annual open calf show on Friday 24th January 2014 at Borderway Mart, Carlisle when nearly all of the 26 catalogued entries were forward for judging.  This was made up of 12 males and 14 females all UK born pedigree registered calves born on or after 1st January 2013.   

The club would like to thank Harrison and Hetherington Ltd for the catalogue and the premises, Massey Bros. (Feeds) for the Perpetual Shield awarded to the champion calf, Norbreck Genetics for the Perpetual Shield for the winner of the young handler class & Jim Peet (Agriculture) Ltd for the prize money.

The Judge Andrew Price, Bedgebury Herd had the very difficult task of judging the calves and commented that there was an outstanding standard of future prospects throughout, and said his champion was a fantastic, stylish modern heifer, great locomotion, very well grown and full of meat in all the right places.  He would like to thank all involved for the privilege as it was a huge honour to be asked.   

Tanat Image

The Supreme Champion Calf – Tanat Image from Wyn Jones

The female and overall championship was awarded to Wyn Jones with Tanat Image ET a February 2013 daughter out of the Boherard Cantona ET (IS) and Boomer Fendi ET flush. 

The reserve female championship went to Adam Neachell with Cromwell Isabella ET a January 2013 daughter from the Cromwell Fendt (SR) ET and Hematite D’Ozo flush.

The male and reserve overall championship was also awarded to Wyn Jones with Tanat Impact ET a January 2013 calf out of the Empire D’Ochain (IS) (SR) and Tanat Ebony ET flush.

Kevin Watret, took the reserve male championship with a strong Solway View Dynamite ET son, Solway View Inferno a January 2013 bull out of Bridgemuir Dolly ET.

T & A Cockburn and Wyn Jones won the Progeny group with two Empire D’Ochain (IS) (SR) male calves.  Kingside Inka Warrior ET (4th in his class) and Tanat Impact ET (1st in his class, Male & Reserve Overall Champion).

Izzy Hartley Clinched the Norbreck Perpetual Trophy once more, but there was very little between her and the second prize winner Holly Bellas. In third place was Joe Pattinson.

Class prize winners were as follows: -

Class 1) male born between 01.01.13 and 24.03.13:

1st, Male & Reserve Overall Champion Tanat Impact ET (WR & WW Jones);

2nd & Reserve Male Champion Solway View Inferno (Kevin Watret);

3rd Kingside Iceman ET (T & A Cockburn);

4th Kingside Inka Warrior ET (T & A Cockburn);

5th Cromwell Invincible ET (AE Neachell & Son).

Class  2) male born between 01.04.13 and 18.10.13:

1st Abington I Am Legend (Ian McGarva);

2nd Pendle Impretza (AM & E Hartley);

3rd Homilton Inferno ET (Roly Carr);

4th Homilton Iceman ET (Roly Carr).

Class 3) female born between 01.01.13 and 21.02.13:

1st, Female Champion & Overall Champion Tanat Image ET (WR & WW Jones);

2nd & Reserve Female Champion Cromwell Isabella ET (AE Neachell & Son);

3rd Croftends Izzy ET (JE Bellas & Son);

4th Solway View Impuls (Kevin Watret);

5th Pendle Itsy Bitsy ET (AM & E Hartley).

Class 4) female born between 01.03.13 and 25.08.13:

1st Top Side Isla (Ross & Elaine Pattinson);

2nd Midlock Isla ET (Andrew Wight);

3rd Croftends Imogen (JE Bellas & Son);

4th Stonebyres Imogen ( A & CS Comrie);

5th Abington Islay ET (Ian McGarva). 

Class 5 Young Handler (aged 16 and under):

1st Izzy Hartley leading Pendle Itsy Bitsy ET;

2nd Holly Bellas leading Croftends Imogen;

3rd Joe Pattinson leading Top Side Isla.

Class 6 Progeny Group (2 animals by the same sire but out of different dams):

1st T & A Cockburn & WR & WW Jones – Kingside Inka Warrier ET & Tanat Impact ET (sired by Empire D’Ochain (IS) (SR).

2nd Kevin Watret – Solway View Inferno & Solway View Impuls (sired by Solway View Dynamite ET).

3rd A & CS Comrie – Stonebyres Imogen & Stonebyres Icarly (sired by Tamhorn Enterprising ET);

  • DSCF4300
  • DSCF4301
  • DSCF4303
  • DSCF4306
  • DSCF4307
  • DSCF4308
  • DSCF4309
  • DSCF4312
  • DSCF4315
  • DSCF4316
  • DSCF4317
  • DSCF4319
  • DSCF4322
  • DSCF4325
  • DSCF4328
  • DSCF4331
  • DSCF4334
  • DSCF4337
  • DSCF4338
  • DSCF4340
  • DSCF4341
  • DSCF4347
  • DSCF4349
  • DSCF4352
  • DSCF4354
  • DSCF4357
  • DSCF4360
  • DSCF4362
  • DSCF4365